Nicole wants you to do your best!

Nicole PhillipsMy name is Nicole Phillips. I graduated from Marywood in 2014 with a bachelors in special education and middle school math/science. While at marywood I participated in the alternative spring break service projects going to places like West Virginia, NYC, and Guatemala where I served those less fortunate then myself. These experiences led me to dedicating my time to a year of service after I graduated. I became an AmeriCorps member in Palm Beach County Florida where I worked at Believers Academy which is an emotional/behavioral high school. My main focus was to help the students improve their reading skills, but I also helped with job skills such as creating a resume and filling out an application. I also worked numerous community based service projects throughout the year including Habitat for Humanity, Surfers for Autism, and Special Olympics.

The students and staff that I worked with during my year of service were so amazing and truly touched my heart. The following school year I transitioned from AmeriCorps member to a full time math and science teacher at Believers Academy. I couldn’t be happier with where my life has taken me and I have my experiences at Marywood to thank for that.

Leave a Reply

